Claim for 3xdeposit

You are here : Member Forums Tenancy Deposits Claim for 3xdeposit
This topic has been locked as no posts have been made within the last 90 days.
G
GR1977
7 Posts
0 Thanks
Hello, I am not a professional landlord and this will became evident as you read further!

1/10/14 - 2 men move in (X&Y), sign joint tenancy agreement. Pay 825 deposit and 347.50 rent each monthly (total = 695).
1/4/15 - Y moves out, remaining man stays on NO written contract and pays 695 monthly. Both deposits returned in full.
During April 15 X asks his female friend (Z) to move in & she does, I am not informed immediately. Z tells me she would like to rent the property with X. I say this is fine contingent on referencing/credit check; I still am not aware of Z living in property.
April 15: I lodge Z's deposit and X's deposit with DPS all under X's name as Z does not yet have tenant start date. They are both informed of this and the prescribed information is given to them to sign.
1/5/15 I accept 347.50 from Z for rent and X's rent is reduced to 347.50.
1/5 - 1/9/15: X and Z live in property with no written contract. During this time their relationship breaks down.
1/9/15: X gives notice to quit, Z states her boyfriend wants to move in. I meet with Z and send email to X and Z stating their current arrangement will end on 2/10/15 along with details of potential deposit deductions they could remedy in the interim period. I also stated to Z that she can pay half rent during October ie 347.50 whilst she lives there alone. She thanked me for this.
2/10/15: X leaves, Z credits 347.50 (half rent) to my account (no direct debit set up).
During October Z's boyfriend moves in complete with all his furniture and personal effects. Z does not tell me this.
Mid-october I finalise deposit deduction and remaining monies are transferred back to X via the DPS.
Z goes ballistic (via text message) saying the money should not have gone to X. I attempt to speak to Z but she cuts off all contact.