Join the Residential Landlords Association

Tennant Spending on Property

You are here : Member Forums Maintenance Tennant Spending on Property
Click4
Click4
11 Posts
0 Thanks

Hi all,

Just need some quick advice, I am new to all of this and kind of dig myself a hole and now the tenant is frustrating me.

House belonging to my uncle who passed away was initially inhabitable, no heating, outdated and in need of a good clean and tidy up.

I had a plan in place to secure funding and do a full renovation prior to rental from top to bottom with everything new.

Neighbour next door to my parents bungalow was going through a separation and needing to sell their house.

House was offered as a last resort if they needed somewhere to rent, he asked to take a look then loved the house and the area and made it their first choice instead.

It was offered at reduced rent for 6 months because things needed doing and it wasnít 100%, so I did what I could to tidy it up and make it habitable, I put a new bathroom in with a shower, painted the main bedroom, lounge and hallway, new flooring in hallway, new plumbing and heating with hot water cylinder. But as it was on an accelerated schedule I didnít have all the money in place and was on a budget so just did as much as I could and what I could.. and plodded on to get as much done.

Then he started pressuring me because his house was completing and he didnít want it falling through, the buyers needed to be out of their house and was under pressure from their landlord, his wife was pressuring him for her half of the house sale etc.

So I wrapped things up to make sure it was left in a safe and clean condition but there was things unfinished, like hadnít got all the bathroom tiled and various other little bits and pieces.