Tenant away but refusing access for inspection/maintenance against AST terms

You are here : Member Forums Access Tenant away but refusing access for inspection/maintenance against AST terms
M
marg
12 Posts
1 Thanks

Forgive the details but I’m new to the RLA and to being a landlord, and am very confused by the fact that the AST terms apparently cannot be applied even though I thought it a legally binding document.

My tenant, with whom I have an AST ending 29 July 20017, said she denies access for all except a 3 month check. She refused 2 requests for access to do a safety check and threatened to get a trespass order if I went.

Tenant is in USAF (US Air force) stationed here, but currently away in Africa. She has been out of the country, and therefore not in occupancy of the premises, since (I believe) 7 November 2016 and I understand will be away for a period of 6 months total – but she will not tell me when she is coming back. She is paying her rent. She has a military clause which allows her to give 30 days’ notice if posted further away. However, her rent is covered by USAF and I believe her reason for maintaining the tenancy is that it would be more expensive for her to put her possessions in store.

My insurance company have informed me that my policy is now invalidated since she has been away now for 90 days, and I am only covered for fire, explosion and earthquake (The insurance company previously told me it was all OK as there was a tenancy in place, so I did not address this with the tenant before she went away).

According to the AST I believe it is her liability to look after the house and report to me any problems, which would obviously minimize any uninsured damages, though I expect an actual claim against her would be difficult to uphold, which is why I previously agreed to pay an agent to do these checks (agent not now in my employ).