advice needed for a resident landlady

You are here : Member Forums Other advice needed for a resident landlady
This topic has been locked as no posts have been made within the last 90 days.
J
justdoitviv
57 Posts
11 Thanks

I did not know where to post this so chose this heading.

I am a resident landlady, and an hmo, sharing all facilities with my guests/lodgers. As i understand the law, no one has exclusive use of their room, and i do not need to go to court to evict anyone. I need only give verbal notice, but preferable in writing, and witnessed but not legally required and it must be to what the contract states. + I add this because rla advisers on several times change their mind depending who i talk to. Some say i have to give a months notice. Others say, its what the rental period is, and others what the contract is.

My agreement states if the lodger stays 13 weeks they get greatly reduced rent. If they dont stay the 13 weeks,or force me to evict them, then the rent is higher, because i take in short term stayers at a higher rate.

I gave room 5 , 5 and a half weeks notice, when the contract states one week, and rent is paid weekly, because he just was not great at sharing a kitchen in an hmo. No hard feelings, but he was not obeying the house rules regarding the kitchen, he was upsetting me, and i had too many complaints. ie i had one person leave, because they had no use of fridge or freezer space and had to refund them £30 for the two weeks because room 5 took the whole fridge to himself.

I tried to find him alternative rooms, most turned him down. I was honest, there was no problem with this guy, but he can only share with one or two others the kitchen. I did actually find a gent, who would take him, who worked mostly and stayed in london So my problem with this guy wouldnt be a problem with him.