This is an eLearning course. Learn at your own pace
from the comfort of your own home.

HMO Property Standards (eLearning)

HMO landlords must comply with the same obligations placed on all landlords relating to the health and safety of their properties. However there is an extra layer of regulation to ensure that HMO are safe for sharers.

Landlords and property managers of HMO face steep penalties for non-compliance with safety measures and may also be subject to licence conditions. This course provides an overview of the various pieces of legislation affecting property standards in HMO.

Course Content

The course is appropriate for landlords and agents of HMO or for those with mixed portfolios and covers:

  1. S11 Landlord and Tenant Act 1985 - explaining the basic repairing obligations
  2. Defective Premises Act 1972 - how tenants can seek compensation if they suffer injury, harm or loss
  3. HMO Manager Regulations - the additional layer of regulations affecting HMO of all sizes, irrespective of licensing.
  4. The Housing Health and Safety Rating System, Housing Act 2004 - the Local Authority risk based approach to assessing properties for hazards. Property that require a licence are highly likely to be assessed under this legislation.
  5. Overview of gas and electrical safety
  6. Minimum room sizes in HMO
  7. Introduction to fire safety in HMO
  8. Tenants behaving in a 'tenant like manner'
  9. How to obtain access for repairs


This online course will allow learners to:

  1. Break down the key pieces of legislation on property standards for HMO to provide a clear understanding of obligations.
  2. Understand the additional obligations placed on HMO landlords such as fire safety and minimum room sizes.
  3. Know what they can expect from tenants in terms of access and behaving in a tenant like manner.

Suitable for

Landlords, managing agents and property managers of HMO and/or licensable property.

Please note: The licence will last for 12 months from the time of purchase.
RLA Member
from £40.00
Non Member
from £60.00

Continuous Professional Development

Remember that Continuous Professional Development points (CPD) apply to RLA courses. You can also get CPD points for being a member of the Residential Landlords Association.

What else can apply to my CPD?

Residential Landlords Association Accreditation Scheme

Residential Landlords Accreditation Scheme Logo

This course is worth 2 basic CPD points with the Residential Landlords Association Accreditation Scheme

RLAAS is a national scheme who aim to encourage, acknowledge and actively promote good standards and management practice by owners and to assist owners and tenants to undertake their respective responsibilities to each other.

RLAAS is open to all landlords who operate in the private sector, and accreditation is FREE. Members of RLAAS also receive a discount when enroling for a course operated by the Residential Landlord's Association.

To find out more, and what RLAAS means to landlords and tenants across the country, visit the RLAAS website.

View our training terms and conditions.
Ideal Flatmate
Elfin Kitchens
Landlord Broadband
John Pye Auctions

Share this page