This is an eLearning course. Learn at your own pace
from the comfort of your own home.

Property Standards (eLearning)

The health and safety standards for rental properties can be a complex area. There are multiple pieces of legislation which place repairing obligations on landlords, several of which are now intrinsically linked to the ability to serve a S21 notice. The course explains the various pieces of legislation and how this applies in practice for landlords and agents of single dwellings.

Course Content

The course is appropriate for landlords or agents of single dwellings and covers:

  • S11 Landlord and Tenant Act 1985 - explaining the basic repairing obligations.
  • Defective Premises Act 1972 - how tenants can seek compensation if they suffer injury, harm or loss.
  • Environmental Protection Act 1990 - where properties are deemed 'prejudicial to health'.
  • The Housing Health and Safety Rating System, Housing Act 2004 - the Local Authority risk based approach to assessing properties for hazards
  • Overview of gas, electrical and fire safety
  • Tenants behaving in a 'tenant like manner'
  • How to obtain access for repairs

Note - this course does not cover the additional obligations placed on landlords of HMO.


This eLearning course breaks down the key pieces of legislation on property standards so that landlords and agents will have a clear understanding of their obligations. Containing check your knowledge quizzes, case studies and video for an interactive experience.

Suitable for

All landlords and agents with full repairing contracts of single dwellings.

For HMO or mixed portfolios, please see Property Standards for HMO.

Please note: The licence will last for 12 months from the time of purchase.
RLA Member
from £36.00
Non Member
from £45.00

Continuous Professional Development

Remember that Continuous Professional Development points (CPD) apply to RLA courses. You can also get CPD points for being a member of the Residential Landlords Association.

What else can apply to my CPD?

Residential Landlords Association Accreditation Scheme

Residential Landlords Accreditation Scheme Logo

This course is worth 2 basic CPD points with the Residential Landlords Association Accreditation Scheme

RLAAS is a national scheme who aim to encourage, acknowledge and actively promote good standards and management practice by owners and to assist owners and tenants to undertake their respective responsibilities to each other.

RLAAS is open to all landlords who operate in the private sector, and accreditation is FREE. Members of RLAAS also receive a discount when enroling for a course operated by the Residential Landlord's Association.

To find out more, and what RLAAS means to landlords and tenants across the country, visit the RLAAS website.

View our training terms and conditions.
Ideal Flatmate
Elfin Kitchens
Landlord Broadband
John Pye Auctions

Share this page